A Perfect Job Interview Polish!

I’m sure there are many polishes out there that are great for job interviews, but the one I’ll be featuring today was perfect for me. It got me the job!! Okay, so my awesometastic interview skillz and qualifications are what really did the trick, but I can’t help but give a little credit to the polish I chose to wear on the day I went for my interview. And it wasn’t without careful consideration, of course. I wanted something that was 1) neutral but not too blah 2) didn’t clash with my outfit but 3) also coordinated nicely. So I decided on OPI’s Cosmo-Not Tonight Honey!:

Image by clairesayswhat

Personally, I think this shade is more Cafe Au’Lait than anything else, but I get the “honey” reference more now than when I bought this polish. The “cosmo” part is still weird to me, though, as that always carries either space or hot pink connotations for me.

AnyWHO, I chose this shade for my interview because it was the perfect combo of everything I mentioned above. It has a light brown base with some iridescence to it and, at certain angles, almost matches my skin. So it’s close to being my “mannequin hands” shade, but not quite. And it’s one of OPI’s sheer formulas that builds up quite nicely at 3 coats, which is what you see above. Or maybe it’s 2 coats in the photo. I don’t really remember at this point! haha But either way, it’s versatile enough that you can wear it sheer in a pinch or keep applying coats to bring out the color base more.

I bet it would work well as a base polish for some of the gold glitters and flakes that came out for the holidays, too! Lucky for me, my new office environment is business casual and leans heavily on the casual, so I’m not expecting any restrictions or issues with nail polish colors. Yay! Actually, I could probably even get some junk nails and nobody would notice because we’re so focused on things like correct MARC coding and AACR2 idiosyncrasies. If you’re reading this and you know what that means, raise your nerd flag!

But back to the polish. Cosmo-Not Tonight Honey! is a lovely shade. If you have an interview coming up or work in a professional environment that has a more restrictive dress code, I encourage you to give this shade a try!

Leave a Reply

