Glitterbomb!

Clearly the trend in holiday polish collections for 2011 is GLITTER. They don’t say that disco and an economic recession go together for nothing! Practically every brand is coming out with either a full line of glitter polishes or including at least a few in a larger collection. It’s been a sight to see all the swatches on the other blogs, and to help you keep track of what will be on the market soon, let’s explore some of the popular brands that are focusing on glitter polishes this season!

China Glaze Let It Snow

Image from hollywoodnailsupply.com

So this collection features seven glitters, although none of the colors in this collection are particularly awe-inspiring. But it’s a good chance to stock up on these colors for your collection if you don’t already own them. I plan on hunting down Champagne Bubbles because lord knows I am a sucker for a gold sparkly polish! Plus, this one has larger pieces of silver glitter that form a nice contrast against the bright gold base.

Essie Luxeffects

Image from bodycare.becomegorgeous.com

Talk about a collection after my own heart…wow! If you google this collection and look at photos of the display, you will note that it features two rows of the gold polish on the left. It’s definitely the first shade I’ll be buying! The one next to it is also a flakie, so take note if you don’t own one of those already as they are great for layering. I also really like that sort of mauve glitter shade. The silver and white are pretty skippable for me, but they’re nice nonetheless. Actually, the more I stare at that mauve and silver glitter together, the more I really like that combo! Very vintage.

Color Club Backstage Pass

Image from amazon.com

Ok so this collection is for the truly adventuresome! Please see Scrangie for her excellent swatches of these polishes and to experience their true glory as the photo I’ve used doesn’t do them justice. The glitters in some of these shades aren’t even going to pretend to lie flat on the nail, which is why I say they are for the adventuresome. Personally, I can’t stand when larger glitter pieces start to lift off on my nails, so I won’t be getting any of these shades. Once again, though, the gold shade in this collection is very pretty. The thing I like the most about Color Club (even though it’s hard to find in my area) is that they always offer their collections in these nice wham-bam-thank-you-m’aam sets, and they include a topcoat, too!

Wet n Wild Color Icon Ice Baby

Image from everydaymakeupblog.com

Remember the other day when I said I liked this polish but probably wouldn’t be buying anymore of them? Yeah, I went back today and got 2 more. For the price, who can resist?! Also, I’d forgotten to pick up the Back Alley Deals shade, which is said to be a dupe for the nails inc. shade, Bloomsbury Square. You can google the other blogs and see for yourself, but I don’t think anyone could tell the difference! And yes, I still had to stand on the bottom shelf and reach up high to get to this display at Walgreens since they still don’t have it out yet.

OPI Muppets collection

Image from shoppingblog.com

Last but not least (of course, or Miss Piggy would give me a sound headbutt!), is the OPI Muppets collection. I’ve heard that the most popular shade, Rainbow Connection, is sold out in most places already, which is no surprise. This was true of an Ulta I visited this week; however, they did still have quite a few of the gift sets that have Rainbow Connection packaged with Excuse Moi!. If you don’t like either one of those shades, buy the set for the one you want and gift the other to a friend. They’ll love you for it, I promise!

And there is also that kollection which shall not be named that is available exclusively at Wal-Mart. Of course, I re-named the shades in this collection back when it was first announced, and I still think my names are better! Anyway, if you can find it, one of them is a dupe for Rainbow Connection, too.

Are you all glittered out yet? If I missed any collections, please let me know so I can update this post. Also, be sure to post a comment here if you’ve tried any of these glitters, and let me know which are your faves or not!

One Response to “Glitterbomb!”

  1. Oh pretty! Glitters are so perfect for the holidays!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

