Wet n Wild Color Icon Review

Sometimes a polish or polish collection starts a frenzy on the blogs and, before you know it, you’re caught up in the whirlwind and coming up with excuses to go to Walgreens or Ulta for the umpteenth time. You know, like “Oh, I need some new lotion” or “Maybe I want some Zingers and a Dr. Pepper.” Stuff like that. But you’re really going just to look for that new nail polish!

In my case, this time it was the new Wet n Wild Color Icon collection. I went to Walgreens a couple of times because it’s exclusive to them, and I’d read that the Color Icon polish display was out with the other new holiday cosmetics displays. Nope. Walgreens only has perfume sets out in those aisles so far. But then I read a tip on another blog that they sometimes put the displays that they don’t have room for yet up on the very tops of the other beauty aisles. So I went again, and bingo! There was the display hovering over the deodorant! Sure, I had to strain to see the display and reach the colors I wanted, but I managed to snag two. This is Diamond In The Rough:

Image by clairesayswhat

From the swatches on other blogs, I was psyched to try these amazing looking and el-cheapo glitters from Wet n Wild! Regular readers also know how big a fan I am of this brand’s FastDry polishes, too. I chose Diamond In The Rough because I liked its graphite hue and the iridescent round glitter that’s mixed in.

The formula is on the thin side and doesn’t offer very much time to maneuver the polish, so I recommend getting a nice, big glob on the brush and laying it down quick. While I was applying this polish, I kept thinking to myself  “Would it have killed them to make the base of this polish just a bit darker?” I think they could’ve added more of the sparkly silver pieces and tinted the base just slightly darker without increasing the price point of this polish.  But it covered pretty well by the second coat, so I really shouldn’t complain! The glitter in this polish really is pretty amazing for the price, too. It sparkles and twinkles in the light and provides a really nice contrast to the small, darker gray and silver glitter particles in the polish.

Most of the other blogs have also pointed out that this polish dries fairly rough, and I agree with that assessment. Definitely use the thickest top coat you have! Also, I didn’t really experience any problems with the cap of this polish. It’s squat enough that it fits nicely between your thumb and pointer finger without causing application issues.

So how do I ultimately feel about the Color Icon polishes? Well, they are indeed a very good value for the money; however, I’m glad I didn’t buy more than two of them because they’re not *that* great. Although, if you’re new to glitter polishes, these are a great intro because they’re so cheap and give you a big sparkle factor for the price. This color would also look spectacular with many of the cranberry and dark green hued dresses and sweaters of the season!

Let me know if you’re able to track down these Color Icon polishes and which colors you decide to buy and try. And don’t forget to look up high for the newer collections if you don’t see them out on the shelves yet!

One Response to “Wet n Wild Color Icon Review”

  1. […] Glossy Expectations A spot of irreverence in the nail polish blog world « Wet n Wild Color Icon Review […]

Leave a Reply

