Beauty Call!!

Welcome to the first edition of Beauty Call!!, a monthly feature on non-nail polish beauty products! I want to keep the focus of Glossy Expectations on nail polish, but I also use lots of other products so I’ve decided to feature up to 10 in a monthly post. Some months it might be significantly less as I don’t always go crazy at the drugstore or the beauty counter (“Yeah, right!” I’m sure you’re thinking).

I know I read reviews of other products at other websites and blogs before I buy, so I thought why not give me two cents on the products I’m using, too! For those of you that would like to skip my ramblings, I’ll be rating the products on a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) at the end of each review. Let me know what you think!

1. Dr. Jart BB Beauty Balm

Image from Sephora.com

So I had read about this new stuff called “BB Cream” at places like xojane.com and decided to give it a try and see what the fuss was all about. This stuff is seriously amazing!! Basically, it’s a tinted moisturizer, but once you put it on your skin it’s like some mysterious transformation happens. You’ll be amazed that your skin looks better, but you won’t really know how. I swear! The color is kind of a neutral beige, and I thought it might be too dark at first but it goes on much on lighter once it’s rubbed in. It’s thicker than other tinted moisturizers, so the coverage is a bit better, too. The Dr. Jart brand only comes in the one shade at the moment, but the Boscia brand offers BB Cream in a greater range of shades. I’m pretty pale, but if you’re super pale, this might be too dark for you. Likewise, if you’re skin is a bit darker, one of the shades at Boscia will probably be better for you. I really love this stuff and can’t recommend it enough!
Beauty Call!! rating: 5

2. L’oreal Age Perfect Hydra -Nutrition Golden Balm

Image from Google

This is a new product from L’oreal which my mom kind of made fun of me for buying. She said it was for someone her age since it’s advertised as being for “mature” skin with deep wrinkles. But I’ve been looking for a good night cream that feels substantial on my skin. You know, so I can feel like it’s actually doing something. Plus, I’m on this skincare kick, and it’s never too early to start with the old lady regimens if you ask me! Not that my mom is an old lady…ack! I think she knows what I mean, though. Anyway, I decided to give this stuff a try because it had the word “balm” in the title, much like the BB cream. So far, I really like it. It’s a good consistency that blends well into my skin and doesn’t smell too weird. Ok, it does kind of smell like some lotion my grandma used to wear, but it doesn’t bother me because it’s not overpowering. It’s $20, but you get a lot of product for the money and a little goes a long way. I really like these new balm products, and I predict them to be the next big beauty trend for sure!

Beauty Call!! rating: 4.5

3. Sonia Kashuk Eye on Fall Color–03 Instructional Eye Shadow Palette

Image from Target

I’d seen this in several of my magazines, and I’m trying to slowly replace my old eye shadows with new ones. This palette includes 12 shades and a pull-out tray with instructions for 3 Looks. I was kind of disappointed because I already know how to do each look (a “sweep of color,” really??), but I understand they’re going for basic, easy-to-do tips here. However, for someone who actually needs to use the instructions, trying to hold the palette, follow the instructions, and apply the shadow might be a bit difficult. Overall, it’s a good assortment of shades at a good value. They all apply well, too. I like that with the 03 palette you get some sparkly, metallic shades with more subdued ones. Plus, these colors will also coordinate well with existing other colors in your makeup collection as well as your fall wardrobe.

Beauty Call!! rating: 4.5

4. Benefit Velvet Eyeshadow in Bikini Line

Image from hsn.com

Gold eyeshadow has been a go-to look for me for awhile, and it was a big trend on the fall runway this year, too. I’ve mostly used gold as an accent before but wanted to imitate some of the looks I saw from runway photos that included all-over gold, so I decided on the Bikini Line shade from Benefit’s new Velvet line. Plus, I couldn’t resist the cute birds on the package. This eye shadow is really great! The color is so soft and pretty and luminous. It’s an instant eye-brightener! Paired with brown at the crease and a little gold dust on top, this shade is perfect for pretty much every skin tone. It applies and stays on really well, too. I’ll definitely be going back to these shadows first when I decide what colors to replace and add to my makeup case next!

Beauty Call!! rating: 5

5. First Aid Beauty 5 in 1 Eye Cream Age Delay

Image from Sephora

This stuff is decent. It gets the job done of providing extra moisture to the under eye area. The packaging says it will “prevent/reduce wrinkles, improve radiance, correct uneven skin tone, nourish and moisturize, combat free radicals.” It probably does maybe 2 of those things well, but I wasn’t expecting miracles from this product. Would I buy it again? Probably not. The only product I’ve ever used that I think actually reduced the appearance of my dark circles was by Clinique, so I’ll probably go back to that next time. But this eye cream is good because it doesn’t contain parabens or sulfates or anything synthetic and is allergy-tested and fragrance free, all of which are definite pluses either way.

Beauty Call!! rating: 3.5

6. Ole Henriksen African Red Tea Exfoliating Lip Salvation

Image from Sephora

This product intrigued me when I first saw it. I’ve heard of lip exfoliants before but never tried one, and I’d also heard good things about the red tea products from Ole Henriksen. I read some reviews of this product before I purchased it on Sephora, which were quite mixed. From my point of view, I thought it would be much grittier since it’s supposed to exfoliate. I also thought it would be something you were supposed to wash off. In reality, the opposite of both is true. The exfoliants are very tiny and smooth, and you put it on/wear it just like lip balm. It has a very slight, cranberry tint and has a bit of a vitamin C-like taste. A little goes a long way, too, so the $15 price point is not too bad. Although, I’m pretty sure Neutrogena or another brand makes a similar product for half the price at the drugstore.

Beauty Call!! rating: 3.5

7. C.O. Bigelow Tinted Lip Balm

Image from Bath & BodyWorks

First, I got this lip balm in the Lemon Blackberry flavor, and I liked it so much that I went back for the Lemon Strawberry! It’s super creamy and smells and tastes yummy! Plus, the tint is just right: sheer but not so sheer that you can’t see a difference. And of course Bath & Body Works is always running all kinds of Buy 2 get 1 Free or whatever specials, and I did get the Strawberry flavor for free. I’ve been a fan of C.O. Bigelow products for awhile, and this one is definitely great. I hope they come out with more flavors in the future! It is petroleum based, though, which I was quite surprised by. That doesn’t both me, but I know some people try to avoid lip balms and other products that contain petroleum so I thought I’d mention it.

Beauty Call!! rating: 5

8. C.O. Bigelow Organics Golden Peach Moisturizing Lip Shine

Image from Bath & Body Works

I wish I could say the same about this Lip Shine from C.O. Bigelow, but I was sadly disappointed with the Golden Peach flavor. The Lemon Pomegranate Lip Shine that I tried previously was great and packed with flavor, so I had high hopes for the Golden Peach. It’s not a bad lip gloss, but I can’t detect really any peach flavor at all!  This might be a plus for some people, though, and the Lip Shine is also organic and does not contain petroleum products. If you’re looking for something that’s not highly scented or flavored and doesn’t have a lot of color, then you might like this. But for $7.50, there are tons of cheaper products out there that will do that for you.

Beauty Call!! rating: 2.5

9. True Blue Spa Sugar 60-Second Manicure Hand Scrub

Image from Bath & Body Works

The True Blue Line from Bath & Body Works is pretty amazing, and I’m a huge fan of their Paraffin Super-Softening Hand Lotion. In fact, I was in the store buying just that product, and since they were running one of those infamous Buy 2 Get 1 Free specials, I got this for free! It’s been on my list of things to try for awhile anyway. It smells great, kind of citrusy, a lot like the lotion (people always go crazy over the scent whenever I use the lotion, btw), and scrubs really well. It would be a great foot scrub, too. Would I pay $12 for it? Hmm….maybe not. I’d probably just wait for another special, and buy more lotion, too! haha The True Blue Spa products make great presents. I would recommend them for gift baskets for new moms or Secret Santa gifts. The lotions come in travel sizes, too! But back to the Scrub…it does a great job of sloughing off the dryness around the cuticles and nail beds. Plus, it’s so easy to use! Just grab a dollop from the jar and scrub away!

Beauty Call!! rating: 5

10. Clarisonic Mia

Image from Sephora

Like I said before, I’m on a skincare kick, and I had a birthday coming up so while I was shopping with a giftcard for other things at Sephora, my mom said she would get me the Clarisonic for my birthday. Thanks, Mom! I’ve always been interested in this little face scrubber as it’s usually touted in the lady magazines for being super-amazing-ohmygod-determatologist-recommended-your-skin-will-look-great!!! And I have to say, it is pretty awesome! The Mia is a bit cheaper than the Clarisonic Plus because you can only use one kind of brush head with it and the Plus has more settings. Of course, the ladies at Sephora tried to sell us the Plus because you can use it to exfoliate your body and isn’t that great?! Whatever, ladies, I have a brush for that and I already forget to use it. One brush head and one setting will do just fine, thanksomuch. Anyway, the brush pulsates rather than rotates so it’s very gentle on your skin. You just put some cleanser on your face, turn on the Clarisonic and move it gently around, letting the brush do all the work! It even turns off by itself after 1 minute. Personally, I like that the pulsating brush does all the work for me because I’m lazy and need some initiative to not use those pre-moistened face cloths. Mindy Kaling agrees. She got one recently, too. The Clarisonic purports to reduce wrinkles and, oddly, increase absorption of Vitamin C. I’m not sure about either of those yet, but I can say that it does a really nice job of gently getting rid of dry skin. This combined with the L’oreal balm is really making my skin totes glowy. So, yes, the Clarisonic is a bit expensive, but I think it’s totally worth it. You can believe the hype on this product!

Beauty Call!! rating: 5

Phew! Aaaand there’s a reason I’ll only be doing this once a month! But I do hope you enjoyed my reviews. Please leave a comment if you’ve tried any of these products or have any other thoughts or questions. Happy shopping!

3 Responses to “Beauty Call!!”

  1. OK….so I keep saying now that I’m in my 30s, I’m eventually going to start wearing makeup everyday already. When that day finally comes, I know who to call! You’re my go-to beauty genius! 🙂

    • Haha thanks! Although I actually think the less you wear makeup when you’re younger the better your skin will be in the long run. I just wear the BB cream if I wear anything at all. 🙂

  2. I love love looooove that Clarisonic. I already have two but I SO need that jaguar one.

Leave a Reply

