Like sands through the hourglass….

So are the day of our lives….If you grew up watching the soap opera, Days of Our Lives, like I did then you know you’ll never forget that line as long as you live! Every soap opera has its memorable theme songs and characters, and Days is no exception. Who could forget the never ending saga of Princess Gina and Stefano?? Oh and remember when Marlena was possessed by the Devil? Now that was some good TV! Days was the soap opera of choice for my aunt and grandma and, naturally, my cousins and I picked up on it as teenagers. We would watch it every day in the summers in the afternoon because they didn’t have cable at their house. We would also watch reruns of 90210…..What can I say? If you don’t have cable, it is slim pickin’s around lunch time, and you’re forced to watch reruns of sitcoms until the soaps come on (followed by the afternoon talk shows, of course)!

Anywho, because Ulta sent me a $3 off $10 or more coupon, I decided it was time to bite the bullet and give a Butter London polish a try.

Image by clairesayswhat

I’ve investigated the pretty Butter London displays at Ulta before, but the $14 price tag of their polishes is a bit much even for me. But the $3 off made it more do-able. I finally decided on All Hail the Queen, which is a sort of shimmery, light brown shade. It really reminds me of those unforgettable sands through the hourglass!

The Ulta saleslady said that a coworker compared the finish and wear of Butter polishes to the new Shallac polishes that are supposed to last up to two weeks. Out loud I said, “Oh yeah, cool!” but in my head, I thought “Sure, lady, I’ll believe it when I see it!” But you know what? She was right! The consistency of the polish was a bit thick, but it applied and laid down evenly. It didn’t have a lot of maneuverability time, but it didn’t need it because the polish was super smooth. All Hail the Queen dried with a lovely glossy finish, and it really did hold up extremely well! I topped it off with a coat of Seche Vite, but you could even skip a top coat on this one if you’re in a rush. And although I only wore it for a week, it looked nearly as perfect when I took it off as when I applied it. In sun light, this shade is totally gorgeous, by the way! It’s shimmery and sparkly, but in a subtle way. It falls somewhere in between a foil and a holo. My photo really doesn’t do this shade justice, but it’s hard to capture the shimmeriness on camera.

And if you’re worried that Butter’s signature rectangular black cap will be hard to hold on to, don’t–it comes off to reveal a normal sized, round black cap. It even has a fun little birdie (that wears a crown, of course) stamped on top!

Overall, I really loved this polish and will definitely try another one the next time Ulta sends me a coupon. Butter London has lots of fun colors (although I think many have cheaper dupes) with fun, British names that echo the origins of the brand.

Leave a Reply

