Set Your Sails for Adventure….

Is the song in your head yet? Do you remember this from the far back reaches of your childhood? Give up?? It’s a Jem and the Holograms song, silly!! A couple of weeks ago, my boyfriend and I noticed that the Hub channel was airing some episodes of the series. I immediately made him DVR them. The first episode we watched featured this song and subconsciously inspired today’s post:

Photo by clairesayswhat

I bought these two polishes not long ago and was deciding which one to try first on my drive home the other day. Then I thought, duh, try them both at once! These are both again from Wet n Wild’s Fastdry collection. I have become such a fan of this polish line and haven’t been disappointed by a shade yet! They are truly are fantastic. The darker shade, on my thumbs and pinkie fingers, is FusciaRama. Surprisingly, it’s a jelly! I thought for sure, based on how it appears in the bottle, that it was a cream. Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised. This shade applies beautifully and is great for beginners because you can really brush it on and not worry about streaks or dents.

My other three fingers are painted with Hannah Pinktana. Once this shade dried and I saw it in the light on my nails…WOW! I cannot emphasize enough how gorgeous this shade is!! I even put a coat of it on my thumbs and pinkies to complete the look. Hannah Pinktana is a sheer purple micro-glitter, but I built it up to three coats. It’s still not opaque, but that doesn’t bother me. I quite like the glassy look. In the light, this shade sparkles with flecks of gold and pink. It sparkles so much that it’s almost a holo! Run, don’t walk to get this shade. Seriously!

As soon as I looked at this manicure completed I realized how influenced by Jem it was! These two shades of purple and the glitter together are so reminiscent of the fabulous fashions of the series. Some of the outfits were so ahead of their time! Of course, others are pure 80s trash (mostly worn by The Holograms’ musical arch nemesis, The Misfits), but that just makes the series all the more endearing. I had a Jem doll as a little girl, and she was the most awesome doll EVER because she was larger than a Barbie and had articulated wrists that you could pose. I became slightly obsessed with trying to find my doll on the Internet the other night, and my boyfriend found this amazing website, Jem Dolls.com, that has picures of every Jem and the Holograms doll ever released AND the extra outfits you could buy! I had the Rock ‘n Flash Jem/Jerrica doll, of course the rarest of all the Jem dolls. Look at that dress! Loves it! And there’s the yellow and pink-splattered hoodie dress for her less flashy Jerrica look.  For some reason, I remember her hair being much more pink, but perhaps I’m confusing the doll with the TV version. I’m also now considering being Jem for Halloween this year. I already have a blond wig, so I would just need to add some pink clip-in extensions. And let’s not even discuss the possibility of light-up earrings!

Anyway, this is one of my favorite nail polish combinations that I have done to date. Also, if you have a twisted and slightly inappropriate sense of humor (like myself), you should watch the hilarious Jem parodies on this YouTube channel.

One Response to “Set Your Sails for Adventure….”

  1. […] may remember Hannah Pinktana, the Wet n Wild polish from the Jem-inspired Set Your Sails manicure. Well, the blue glitter shade in this manicure is its BFF, Blue Wants to Be A Millionaire. It is […]

Leave a Reply

