Nice girls don’t wear Cha-Cha heels!

Have I mentioned yet how the grocery store that I frequent has practically a whole aisle dedicated to nail polish? They carry drugstore brands but also OPI and Orly as well. Needless to say, I usually make a trip down this aisle every time I’m doing grocery shopping. Sometimes I wonder how often their security cameras have caught me making my way down this aisle yet again…AnyWHO, for several weeks, I had my eye on these:

Photo from Walgreens

Sure, they’re a bit childish and a pattern I don’t usually wear, but ultimately I couldn’t resist!  They remind me of Divine in John Waters’ film masterpiece, Female Trouble. I can’t remember if Divine actually wears hot pink leopard or not in the movie but, either way, they just seem to me as though the spirit of Divine was reincarnated as a nail sticker!

I’ve had good luck with Broadway products in the past as I used to use their fake nails every once in awhile for special events when I still bit my nails. They have pretty designs, and the regular french manicure varieties actually look quite natural. Or at least like you went to a salon to get your nails done. I highly recommend them.

So based on my past experiences with this brand and the extraterrestrial pull of this spectacular pattern, I gave in and bought them. They were also cheap–much cheaper than the Sally Hansen Salon Effects polish strips. Now, when I got them home and set about putting them on, the first thing I noticed was the variety of sizes. Some of them are quite large, and I suppose you could use them on your big toe nail, too, if you wanted. But that would be kind of….skanky, so I suggest cutting it to fit another finger nail if needed. You also get 28 stickers with Broadway where Sally Hansen only gives you 16 for a much higher price. I like that with the Broadway Nail Dress you can get two manicures out of the set instead of just one. The Nail Dress also fit my nails quite well, covering the entire nail bed, whereas the Sally Hansen strips were overall a bit small for most of my nails.

However, there is a major difference in these two products. Broadway Nail Dress is actually a stick-on wrap that applies like a sticker and peels off easily when you’re ready to remove it. The Sally Hansen strips are very thin, more like a decal, and you have to use nail polish remover to take them off. Broadway’s product was easy to apply and remove, but I must offer a TIP: slap a layer of top coat (such as Out the Door) over these suckers immediately after you apply them! I noticed very quickly the next day that the layer of clear plastic over the pattern was peeling up. I applied my top coat too late, but I think if you do it sooner after application that it will help to extend the wear of the Nail Dress strips.

Broadway has less designs than Sally Hansen at the moment, but overall it’s a great product for the price. Personally, I think the jury is still out as to whether these nail stickers will be around for the long haul. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

