Through the Looking-Glass

Photo by clairesayswhat

Sinful Colors is a brand I don’t have much experience with, but their bright colors are always catching my eye at the beauty counter of Walgreens. The first shade I decided to try is called Let Me Go (# 322). It stood out to me because it reminded me of a purple version of one of my most favorite OPI shades, Significant Other. I had high hopes for this polish.

In the bottle this color looks fantastic: like a gorgeous psychedelic swirl of blur and purple. It reminded me of colors and themes associated with Alice in Wonderland, and I had grand expectations. I didn’t expect it to have those wondrous interference/iridescent qualities of Significant Other, but I thought the color would translate better at least.  Sadly, on the nail, it’s well, pretty sad. It’s very sheer and even with three coats didn’t really build up to being opaque or more spectacular color-wise. It also shows up as primarily purple with none of the hints of blue that I saw in the bottle.

Image from Walgreens.com

Compare my photo to the one of the bottle above. See the difference? My photo is not the best, but what you see on my nails is accurate to how it appeared to my eyes in person. I’m not going crazy for expecting more blue to show up on the nail, am I? Overall, this shade was just not what I was expecting at all. And the name that Sinful Colors chose? Strange, yet so apropos. I will probably be letting this shade go to a friend at some point in the not too distant future. Maybe it’s better under a glitter topcoat, though, so perhaps I will give this shade another try before totally kicking it to the curb.

What do you think? Have you tried this shade from Sinful Colors? What’s your experience with this brand?

One Response to “Through the Looking-Glass”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    i hate when the color is different than what it looks in the bottle..I have not tried that brand but have had that issue with some of the cheaper polishes

Leave a Reply

